Journals about food science
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Food Science 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/foodsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference sources             Print Page
  
 

US Government sources

The United States government produces a wealth of documents, data, and websites.

Food Safety Research Information Office
Info portal from the US Department of Agriculture. Brings together fact sheets, reports, databases of outbreaks, etc. from wide-ranging sources
on common food pathogens and other food safety issues.

HACCP (Hazardous Analysis and Critical Control Point) website
"Space-age technology designed to keep food safe in outer space may soon become standard here on Earth." See HACCP: A State-of-the-Art Approach to Food Safety for more explanation. From the Food and Drug Administration.

 

and Patents!

Patents allow inventors to profit from their inventions, but expire after 20 years, to allow progress from that invention to proceed uninhibited by patent protection.

Check out our guide like this one for patents

or  US Patent & Trademark Office for the deepest search.

Google Patents is great for looking at earlier patents (before 1976) and quick searching, but you can't do a thorough seach there.

 
 

Online Reference Sources

AGROVOC Thesaurus
Terminology for agriculture, forestry, fisheries, food, and related fields (e.g., environment) in 17 languages (6 more in development). From the U.N.'s Food & Agriculture Organization.

The "Bad Bug" Book : Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins Handbook
Basic facts regarding foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins from the FDA, CDC, and other
US governmental agencies.

Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and New York Times for current news.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging.

Credo Reference
Collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries, both current and historical, on a broad range of subject areas.

 

Reference Books (actual books)

A sampling of reference books in paper format, on the shelves in the Reference Collection in ISEL
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology
Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriology
UM Science Ref QR81 .A5 1994

Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
UM Science Ref QR81 .B46 2001     4 volumes

Dictionary of Flavors

A Colour Atlas of Food Quality Control
UM Science Ref  TP372.5 .S77 [1986]

(Prentice-Hall Essentials) Dictionary of Culinary Arts
UM Science Reference   TX349  .L34 2008

Dictionary of Flavors, 2nd edn.
UM Science Ref  TP418 .D4 2008

Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology
UM Science Ref  TP368.2 .E62 2000

Food Additives Databook
UM Science Ref  TX553 .A3 F573 2003

Food Colours
UM Science Ref  TP456 .C65 F67 2008

Handbook of Food Analytical Chemistry
UM Science Ref  TX545 .H34 2005

Handbook of Food Products Engineering
UM Science Ref  TP370.4 .H375 2007     2 volumes

Merck Index
UM Science Ref  RS51 .M4

Official Methods of Analysis AOAC
UM Science Ref  S587 .A73

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageNaka Ishii
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
Send Email

Subjects:
Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait