Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Microbiology 

Last update: Mar 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/microbio  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference sources             Print Page
  
 

Need help?

Maxine Schmidt is your librarian while Naka is on sabbatical (Mar 9- Aug 22). Contact Maxine with questions, or get help from the links below:

Ask a Librarian!

RefWorks at UMass Amherst - citation manager

Subject specialist librarians

Microbiology Department

 
 

Online Reference Sources

AGROVOC Thesaurus
Terminology for agriculture, forestry, fisheries, food, and related fields (e.g., environment)
in 17 languages (6 more in development). From the U.N.'s Food & Agriculture Organization.

Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and New York Times for current news.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging.

Credo Reference
Collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries
, both current and historical, on a broad range of subject areas.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Online version of the illustrated zoology encyclopedia. Includes insects and microflora. Current.

 

Print Reference Sources

A tiny sample of the reference books in paper format in the libraries - links are to the Library catalog records.

Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriology
UM Science Ref  QR81 .A5 1994

Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
UM Science Ref QR81 .B46 2001
4 volumes

Collins Web-linked Dictionary of Biology
UM Science Ref QH302.5 .H34 2006
Emphasis on cellular and evolutionary biology. Contains an appendix with links to biology history, careers, etc.

A Dictionary of Biology [Oxford]
UM Science Ref QH302.5 .D54 2008
Short definitions with some line drawings.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
UM Science Re
f
QH302.5 .E525 2002
Twenty-volume set from the Nature Publishing Group.

Practical manual of groundwater microbiology
UM Science [not Ref]
QR105.5 .C85 2008

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageNaka Ishii
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
Send Email

Subjects:
Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait