Reference
Reference Sources
Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Also includes the Merriam Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesuarus, links to the BBC and New York Times for current news, a world atlas, and a quotation dictionary.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Full-text critical essays reprinted from scholarly journals on the works of primarily English-language contemporary literary authors.
Literary Reference Center
Full text literary criticism and author biography. Includes Masterplots.
Lexicons of Early Modern English
A collection of dictionaries and other word lists printed in English before 1700. The etymologies by contemporary speakers of pre-1700 English are especially valuable.
Literature Resource Center
A large collection of literature reference material, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and the Dictionaries of Literary Biography from Gale; the Twayne's Author series; MLA Bibliography; and the Scribners Writers series.A large collection of literature reference material, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and the Dictionaries of Literary Biography from Gale; the Twayne's Author series; MLA Bibliography; and the Scribners Writers series.
Oxford English Dictionary
Online version of the OED, irreplaceable for word definitions, usage, and etymologies.
Oxford Reference Online
Full text entries from over 100 Oxford University Press subject dictionaries, guides, and concise companions, including several foreign language dictionaries.
Contact Me |
Reference Dept.
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts Amherst
413 545-5963
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Communication, Comparative Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 



Loading content... please wait