Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Plant, Soil and Insect Sciences 

Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/psis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference sources             Print Page
  
 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian!

RefWorks at UMass Amherst - citation manager

Subject specialist librarians

Plant, Soil and Insect Sciences Department

 
 

Online Reference Sources

AGROVOC Thesaurus
Terminology for the fields of agriculture, forestry, fisheries, food, and related fields (e.g., environment)
in 17 languages (6 more in development).

Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and New York Times for current news.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging.

Credo Reference
Collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries
, both current and historical, on a broad range of subject areas.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Online version of the illustrated zoology encyclopedia. Includes insects and microflora. Current.

 

Print Reference Sources

Some reference books in paper format in the libraries - links are to the Library catalog records

A Dictionary of Biology
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .D54 2004
Short definitions with some line drawings.

Collins Web-linked dictionary of biology
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .H34 2006
Emphasis on cellular and evolutionary biology. Contains an appendix with links to biology history, careers, etc.

Encyclopedia of life sciences
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .E525 2002
Twenty-volume set from the Nature Publishing Group.

 

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageNaka Ishii
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
Send Email

Subjects:
Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait