Libraries Ask Us

Agriculture - Research Guide

Find material to support your agriculture research. Ask the Agriculture Librarians for assistance.

UMass Extension website

Areas covered on the website of the Center for Agriculture, Food, and the Environment

Extension does more than what is on the website!

Getting the Article

UM Links

This button is in most article databases. Use it to find the articles's full text online, if the libraries have access.

It also searches the library catalog to see what we have of the title in paper format.

If we don't have access, it links you to Interlibrary Loan - a free service to get it elsewhere.

Library Databases for Extension Staff

UMass Extension staff have full access to the Libraries' services and resources. For example, you can use these subscription databases from anywhere using your OIT username and password.

Use databases for finding articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and other reliable sources. If you need information on other areas, though there are dozens of other choices. If you need recommendations or help to use them, don't hesitate to contact us.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, some full text, from 600+ journals, magazines, newsletters, newswires, plus some book chapters about farming, food, horticulture and related fields.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAB focuses on international development - providing access to the world’s applied life sciences literature, 1973 to present.

UMass Libraries' subscription includes: CAB Abstracts Archive; VetMed Resource.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, reviews, books, and recipes. 1901-present.

Full text available in PDF and HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly two million high-resolution specimens from herbaria from around the globe.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Plant Management Network This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Offers research material on agricultural and horticultural crops: journal articles, proceedings, reports, and an image-based pest database. 2000 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Turfgrass Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, monographs, fact sheets, pamphlets, images, and web documents related to turfgrass culture, science and management.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Ag Extension publications by state

Each state has an Agricultural Extension Service, and publishes materials for their specific audiences. These documents can be hard to locate, but many of them can at least be identified using the Agricola database, which is the catalog of the U.S.D.A.'s National Agricultural Library in Beltsville, MD.

States have some publications available for purchase on an Extension website. These websites are not consistent or maintained reliably.

Alabama	Alaska	Arizona	Arkansas	California
Colorado	Connecticut	Delaware	Florida	Georgia
Hawaii	Idaho	Illinois	Indiana	Iowa
Kansas	Kentucky	Lousiana	Maine	Maryland
Massachusetts	Michigan 1 or 2	Minnesota	Mississippi	Missouri 1 or 2
Montana	Nebraska	Nevada	New Hampshire	New Jersey
New Mexico	New York	North Carolina	North Dakota	Ohio
Oklahoma	Oregon	Pennsylvania	Rhode Island	South Carolina 1 or 2
South Dakota	Tennessee	Texas 1 or 2	Utah	Vermont
Virginia	Washington	West Virginia	Wisconsin	Wyoming