Reference Materials
Reference materials provide background or factual information on a topic. Most reference sources reside in the Reference area on the Lower Level of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library (one flight down from the Entrance Floor). The following categories are associated with Stockbridge School's areas of study:
Arboriculture & Forestry
Firefly Encyclopedia of Trees (UM Science Reference QK474.87 .F57 2005)
Provides color illustrations for identification and understanding of the properties inherent in complex tree communities around the world. Includes horticultural, ornamental, and economic significance of each species with factual sidebars and distribution maps.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (UM Science Reference QK475 .M67 2005)
Contains more than 2,000 illustrations of trees, bark, flowers, leaves, cones, and fruits. Covers varieties in Britain, France, Germany, Belgium, and Holland, but most are also found in the U.S and many are native to North America. First published in England.
Native and Naturalized Trees of New England and Adjacent Canada: A Field Guide (UM Science Reference QK121 .D44 2006)
Easy-to-use reference for identifying trees in the northeast.
Equine Industries
The Complete Equine Veterinary Manual: A Comprehensive and Instant Guide to Equine Health (UM Science SF951 .P38 2004)
Comprehensive two-volume reference work for the horse owner. Covers equine anatomy, routine preventive care and first aid, and symptoms warranting professional veterinary attention. Copious illustrations and photographs. Lists diseases, causes, and treatments.
Equine Clinical Pharmacology (UM Science SF951 .B47 2004)
Clinical pharmacology and therapeutics related to the horse's unique anatomy and physiology. Organized by either drug class and system. Includes drug dose rates.
The New Rider's Horse Encyclopedia (UM Science SF278 .E35 2003)
Includes more than 500 photographs, including how-to sequences. Covers the evolution of the horse, horse history, and horse-related sports. Provides instruction on selection and maintenance of tack and equipment, as well as selecting the right horse, feeding, grooming, exercising, handling, and health issues. Includes a catalog of major horse and pony breeds. Includes a 10-lesson fundamentals riding course.
Fruit & Vegetable Crops
Concise Encyclopedia of Temperate Tree Fruit (UM Science SB354.4 .C66 2003)
Examines all aspects of tree fruit cultivation in the world's temperate zones. Addresses topics such as fruit maturity, plant hormones, fruit nutritional compositions, and rootstock selection. Includes illustrations and tables led by some of the most respected names in the field. Presents the latest research and advances into a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science (UM Science SB45 .E486 2004)
Clear and concise information on classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science.
Uncommon Fruits for Every Garden (UM Science SB355 .R45 2004)
Guide to uncommon fruits and berries such as jujube, juneberry, maypop, and shipova. While they may seem exotic at first glance, these fruits offer ample rewards to the gardener willing to go only slightly off the beaten path at local nurseries. Reliable even in the toughest garden situations, cold-hardy, and pest- and disease-resistant, they are as enticing to the beginner as to the advanced gardener. This expanded sequel to the author's celebrated Uncommon Fruits Worthy of Attention offers new fruits, new varieties, and new photos and illustrations to entice the reader into an exciting world of garden pleasure.
Horticulture
Horticulture: Principles and Practices (UM Science SB318 .A3 2005)
Introductory exploration of horticulture as a science, an art, and a business.
Practical Horticulture (UM Science SB318 .R48 2006)
Scientifically based yet practical introduction to horticulture. Includes landscapes, houseplants, and vegetable gardens.
Taylor's Encyclopedia of Garden Plants (UM Science Reference SB403.2 .T39 2003)
Illustrated encyclopedia on North American gardeners, from flowers to trees to shrubs. Arranged alphabetically according to genus, then broken down by species, with an index of common names and suggestions for growing. Includes 1,200 color photos.
Landscape Contracting
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (UM Reference NA31 .C864 2006)
Contains 6,000 entries and covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the present day. Includes brief biographies of leading architects.
Encyclopedia of Garden Design & Structure: Ideas and Inspiration for Your Garden (UM Reference SB473 .F45 2006)
Contains more than 1,000 photographs of the author's favorite international design features.
How to Price Landscape and Irrigation Projects (UM Science SB472.565 .H88 2005)
Provides business and design strategies as well as industry insights.
Turfgrass Management
Beard's Turfgrass Encyclopedia for Golf Courses, Grounds, Lawns, Sportsfields (UM Science Reference SB433 .B268 2005)
Contains a broad range of cultural practice as well as scientific aspects of turfgrasses and their culture. Includes diagnosis of and solutions for practical problems.
Turfgrass Installation: Management and Maintenance (UM Du Bois SB433 .J65 2004)
Illustrated source book examining every aspect of turf establishment and maintenance. Provides practical solutions problems and situations. Includes tables, charts, photos, and line drawings.
Turf Management in the Transition Zone (UM Science SB433 .D86 2004)
Provides guidance for managing this challenging area where temperature and precipitation vary greatly from season to season.
Subject Guide |
413-577-0784
Send Email
Subjects:
Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning, Agriculture, Sustainability
About Me
MLIS University of Rhode Island; MALD Conway School of Landscape Design
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 




Loading content... please wait