Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Agriculture - Research Guide  Tags: agriculture stockbridge_school  

Last update: Oct 27th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/agriculture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Internet Links             Print Page
  
 

Internet Links

The following Internet sites have been carefully selected as appropriate for academic researchers in the Stockbridge School of Agriculture.

General
Agriculture Online
News and information for growers by publishers of Successful Farming.

Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)
Volunteers from 60 organizations offer quick and reliable access to quality agricultural information and sources.

AgWeb.com
Agricultural news, produced by publishers of Farm Journal and Beef Today and several other Web journals; the journals are incorporated into this site.

AgZines: A Harvest of Free Agricultural Journals
Index to online agricultural journals.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
Core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the mid- to late twentieth century.

Current Research Information System (CRIS)
U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) documentation and reporting system for research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.

E-answers
Research-based information on a wide range of extension subjects including: agriculture, forestry, fishing, lawn and garden, environment, public policy, economics, and water quality.

Farmland Information Center
Clearinghouse for information about farmland protection and stewardship. A partnership between the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and American Farmland Trust.

Holistic Agricultural Library
Full-text, online editions of some classic agricultural books.

Local Harvest
Directory of organic farmers' markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably-grown produce and grass-fed meats.

National Agricultural Library
U.S. Department of Agriculture site offers a wide variety of informational resources useful to growers, consumers, librarians, and teachers

National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
Provides information and other technical assistance to farmers, ranchers, Extension agents, educators, and others involved in sustainable agriculture in the United States.

NewCrop
Information on less common crops. Created by the Center for New Crops and Plant Products at Purdue University.

Small Farm Center Online Library by University of California references over 2900 documents, with online forms for requesting publications to be delivered by mail or fax.

USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS), a collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.

Web Soil Survey
Soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. Soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future.

Arboriculture & Forestry
Massachusetts Arborist Association
Professional trade organization that serves the commercial arboriculture industry, advancing the goals of its members through education, research support, certification and promotion of the value of arboriculture to the public.

Massachusetts Tree Wardens and Foresters' Association
Forum for professional tree managers to share concerns for shade trees growing in their communities.

Tree Care Industry Association
Public, professional resource on trees and arboriculture representing approximately 2,100 tree service and affiliated company members. This site has free tree care information and a directory of local tree companies.

Tree Link
Designed to improve urban and community forests by providing Internet-based information, tools, and inspiration.

UFind - Urban Forestry Index
Searchable index of urban forestry and arboriculture publications.

USDA Forest Service - Center for Urban Forestry Research
Research site for understanding ecosystems, how humans influence those systems, and how to manage for sustained and enhanced benefits.

USDA Forest Service - Northeastern Area Urban and Community Forestry Information Resources
Promotes sustainable forest management and use across the landscape to provide benefits for the people of the Northeastern and Midwestern States and the District of Columbia.

USDA Forest Service - Northeastern Research Station
Investigates the effects of urban forests and their management on human health and environmental quality.

USDA Forest Service - Urban Natural Resources Institute
Point of contact for focused research, development, and information exchange on urban natural resource management.

Society of Municipal Arboriculture
Produced by municipal arborists and urban foresters to create networking and educational opportunities that promote the sound, professional management of trees as a vital and invaluable resource.

Forestry
Collection of links about forestry. Lists pages by topics such as Tree Identification, Forest Fire, Diseases, Forest History, Forest Industry, etc.

Human Dimensions of Urban Forestry & Urban Greening
Features research on people's perception and behavior regarding nature in cities.

i-Tree Software Suite
Tools for assessing and managing community forests.

International Society of Arboriculture - New England Chapter
Conferences, awards, newsletters, competitions, and trainings in the New England region.

Landscape and Human Health Laboratory
Focuses on the relationship between human health and greenspace.

Equine Industries
All About Horses
Gateway to information specializing in horses, horses for sale, horse care, and facts about horses. An interactive, online community uniting enthusiasts nationwide.

American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP)
World's largest professional association of equine veterinarians whose mission is to improve the health and welfare of the horse, to further the professional development of its members, and to provide resources and leadership for the benefit of the equine industry.

American Farrier's Association
Includes directory of farriers, events, programs, classifieds, online store.

FEI
International governing body for all Olympic equestrian disciplines.

Horse Racing
List of associations organized by state.

Horse and Pony Welfare
Directory of associations for welfare, rescue, and adoption of horses and ponies.

International Alliance for Animal Therapy and Healing
Explanations of complementary treatments and therapies from acupuncture to shamanism.

UMass Amherst Equestrian Team
Gateway to all things Horse at UMass-Amherst.

United States Dressage Federation
Information on training, news, events, competitions, and awards, and related merchandise for sale.

United States Equestrian Federation
National governing body for equestrian sport. Comprehensive site covering a wide variety of topics.

United States Equestrian Team
Non profit organization which provides funding for the High Performance competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America's elite and developing athletes and horses.

Fruit & Vegetable Crops
United Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Association
National trade organization representing interests of growers, shippers, processors, brokers, wholesalers, distributors, and suppliers.

Horticulture
Noble Foundation Plant Image Gallery
Searchable by scientific or common name. Includes photographs.

Plant Facts
Digital images and videos collections, developed at Ohio State University.

PLANTS Database
Searchable by scientific and common name, provides taxonomy and distribution information. Often includes photographs.

Landscape Contracting
American Horticultural Society
Information on careers, publications, awards, conferences, and resources.

American Landscape and Nursery Association
For growers, distributors, and retailers of plants of all types. Also provides information for those who design and install landscapes for residential and commercial customers. Information on educational opportunities, research, and public relations.

Associated Landscape Contractors of Massachusetts
Non profit professional trade association in Massachusetts specifically created to serve the landscape contracting industry.

Ecological Landscaping Association
Nonprofit organization of landscape professionals, homeowners, and community groups using landscape practices that are environmentally safe and beneficial.

NRCS Soils Web site
Includes full-text technical manuals, soils surveys , and educational material.

Turfgrass Management
International Turfgrass Society
A worldwide exchange of information on turf issues.

New England Sod Producers Association
Advocates for natural grass vs. artificial grass.

Professional Lawncare Network
International association serving lawn care professionals, landscape management contractors, design/build/installation professionals, and interior plantscapers. Assists members with evaluating, planning, and managing their companies.

TurfFiles
Turfgrass Environmental Research and Education from North Carolina State University. Includes publications, news, events, research, species selection aids and tips.

 

Subject Guide

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait