IGOsNGOsThink Tanks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Public Policy and Administration Research Guide  Tags: administration public_policy policies  

Use this guide to find information and research on topics in the field of public policy and administration
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/publicpolicy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Career Resources            Print Page
  
 

Reference Resources

General

Career Guide: The Employment Opportunities Directory
UM Du Bois Ref HF 5382.5 U5 D86

Cover Letter Almanac
UM Du Bois Ref HF 5383 A26

Damn Good Resume Guide
UM Du Bois Ref HF 5383 P35

Encyclopedia of Career Development
UM Du Bois Ref HF 5381 E517

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
UM Du Bois Ref HF 5381 E52

Many other titles shelved between call numbers:

HF 5381-HF5383

Public Policy Related

Carroll Federal Directory
UM Du Bois Ref Desk JK 6 F441

Carroll State Directory
UM Du Bois Ref Desk JK 2679 C37

Congressional Staff Directory
UM Du Bois Ref Desk JK 1012 C65

Encyclopedia of Associations
UM Du Bois Ref Desk HS 17 G332 

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
UM Du Bois Ref Desk HS 17 E521

Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
UM Du Bois Ref  HS 17 E52

Federal Staff Directory
UM Du Bois Ref Desk JK 661 F4

Massachusetts Political Almanac
UM Du Bois Ref Desk JK 3130 A6

 

 
 

Searching Library Catalogs

In addition to keyword searching, you may also search by subject. Selected subject headings for public policy and administration related careers are listed below:

  • Nonprofit organizations-Vocational guidance
  • Environmental policy-Vocational guidance
  • Social Policy-Vocational guidance
  • Family-Social Policy-Vocational guidance
  • Policy sciences-Vocational guidance
  • Civil service positions-United States

Finding Books

To locate books, videos and other material in the Five College libraries use the links below. If you don't find the material you are seeking in any of these catalogs, search WorldCat and submit requests through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Any UMass student, faculty or staff person may request material not owned by UMass from Interlibrary Loan. It's simple to set up an account on the Interlibrary Loan webpage; enter your library barcode (number beginning with 212066...on the lower right hand corner of your UCard), complete the brief form, and you'll be ready to request items that are not held by the UMass Libraries.

Databases

  • CQ Press Political Reference Suite  
    Use the Washington Information Directory for information about and contacts for government agencies, national and international organizations.
  • Europa World  
    Includes information on governmental agencies in over 250 countries, as well as information about international organizations.
  • GuideStar  
    Searchable database of nonprofits. For access to more information, you must register.
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageBarbara Morgan, M.L.S., J.D.


Contact Info:
Research and Instructional Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003

413 545-6850
Send Email

Subjects:
Legal Studies, Political Science, Public Policy and Administration, STPEC

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait