Nursing
General guide for library research in Nursing
Why use Reference Resources?
Reference materials are a great way to get a broad overview of background information on a topic. Start with reference works to help you choose or define a research topic. Reading some basic background information will lead you to new terminology and concepts which you can then use to search databases or the library catalog for more specific information on a narrower portion of the topic.
DSM-5
In addition to a print copy in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, we have access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (aka DSM-5) through the database Psychiatry Online.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. This resource also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D54 2013ISBN: 9780890425558Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedias
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied HealthCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2013Also available in Print (5-volume set)
Call Number: RT21 .G353 2006
Encyclopedia of Global Health by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781412941860Publication Date: 2008Also available in print (4-volume set):
UM Reference / RA441 .E53 2008
Nursing Leadership: A Concise EncyclopediaCall Number: E-bookISBN: 9780826121769Publication Date: 20122nd edition
Also available in Print
Call Number: UM W.E.B. Du Bois / RT89 .N7943 2012
Dictionaries
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health ProfessionsCall Number: R121 .M89 2009ISBN: 9780323049375Publication Date: 2009
A Dictionary of Nursing Theory and ResearchCall Number: E-bookISBN: 9780826117748Publication Date: 20063rd edition
Other Nursing Reference Sources
Professional Guide to Signs and SymptomsCall Number: RC69.P77 2011ISBN: 9781608310982Publication Date: 20116th edition
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Call Number: RB38.2 .P337 2011ISBN: 9780323074056Publication Date: 201110th edition
Professional Guide to Diseases by Call Number: RT65 .P69 2009ISBN: 9780781778992Publication Date: 20099th edition
