Last Updated: Mar 7, 2016
- UMass Interlibrary Loan
Obtain a loan books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- English Department
- Adelphi Theatre Calendar
Record of dramatic performances at a leading Victorian theatre, 1806-1900.
- Digital Collections, University of Virginia Library
- HathiTrust Digital Library
"... a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
- Internet Archive
Consult especially the Texts section which contains main literary texts in electronic format.
- Internet Public Library
Contains subject collections in the arts and humanities.
- Online Books Page
- Penn Sound
Ongoing project committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives chiefly of authors reading their literary works.
- Read Print
Free online books library for students, teachers, and the classic enthusiast.
- Victorian Women Writers Project
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literature (in English)
Portal to numerous internet sites pertaining to English literature.
- Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.
- Academic OneFile
A large, interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present. Includes coverage of the arts and literature.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present. Click "Choose Databases" to search specifically within MLA International Bibliography, Short Story Index, and MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (Literature Online)
About 350,000 literary works in English: British and American poetry, drama and prose, plus some journals and literature reference sources.
- International Index to the Performing Arts: IIPA
Citations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry, 1864-present.
Core scholarly journals dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before the present.
- Kanopy Films
Streaming video on many aspects of literature.
- Lexicons of Early Modern English
Searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
Massive database of US and international newspapers; case and statutory law and law reviews; business periodicals, 1980-present. Excellent for book, film, and dramatic performance reviews.
- MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, and linguistics. Coverage from 1920’s-present.
- Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; 1996-present.
- Westlaw Campus Research
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980's-present. Excellent for book, film, and dramatic performance reviews.
Research and Liaison Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 577-1536 (fax)Send Email
, Film Studies
, German and Scandinavian Studies
, Library Science
, Medieval Studies
, Religious Studies
, Slavic and East European Studies
If you are doing research in this area and would like some useful suggestions, consult this subject guide provided by Jennifer Dorner of the University of California Berkeley. Remember that we may not have all of the resources she mentions, but this is a very good starting spot just the same.
These helpful websites are free to anyone on the internet.
Revised by Gordon Paulsen Spring 2015.