A Word about Wikipedia
Wikipedia is another popular source of information on the web and for good reason—it’s extensive and often extremely current. However, because anyone can edit Wikipedia pages, they are not always reliable and most instructors will not want you to use them as references in your assignments.
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal encyclopedias can provide you with a summary of the law on your topic.
- Westlaw Campus (UMass only) Click on the "Law" tab, click on "Basic Search" and enter words that describe your research topic. Click on the box next to "American Jurisprudence" and click the blue "Search" button.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law (Ref KF 154 W47) A print multivolume set that includes a good index and a table of cases
Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Yearbooks, etc.
Reference sources can often provide you with an overview, background information and history of a topic.
- Britannica Online The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research, includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and NYT for current news.
- Europa World Yearbook A very useful encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more
- Gale Virtual Reference Library A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Articles, with bibliographies, from experts on all aspects of the social sciences
- Legal Dictionary (The Free Dictionary) Consists mostly of excerpts from West's Encyclopedia of American Law, Edition 2 and The People's Law Dictionary
- Oxford Reference Online Entries from over 100 Oxford University Press subject and language dictionaries, guides, and concise companions.
Your Librarian |
Barbara Morgan, M.L.S., J.D.Contact Info:
Research and Instructional Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
413 545-6850
Send Email
Subjects:
Legal Studies, Political Science, Public Policy and Administration, STPEC
Research and Instructional Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
413 545-6850
Send Email
Subjects:
Legal Studies, Political Science, Public Policy and Administration, STPEC
Description
Loading content... please wait


| 




Loading content... please wait