NRE Prof Writing W&FCon 571 Fisheries Science & Mgmt
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Natural Resources Conservation 

Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/nrc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference sources             Print Page
  
 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian!

RefWorks at UMass Amherst - citation manager

Subject specialist librarians

Natural Resources Conservation Department

 

Gov Docs online

Federal and state governments produce thousands of useful publications. For example:

Silvics of North America : Agriculture Handbook 654, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service. 1990
V. 1 - Conifers
V. 2 - Hardwoods

Using Science.gov you can search for government documents and websites relating to science.  Browse for sites about Natural Resources Conservation.

Explore our Government Information subject guide for more!

 
 

Online Reference Sources

Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and NYT for current news.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Some specific titles within this vast set of reference titles of interest to NRC students:

Water: No Longer Taken for Granted - Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding water resources
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research
Climate Change: In Context -
Offers coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change

Or search the entire collection using key words for relevant articles from many electronic encyclopedias.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Online version of the illustrated zoology encyclopedia.
Includes insects and microflora. Current.

 

Print Reference Sources

Links are to the Library catalog records. Find these books in the Reference Collection of the Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library (ISEL) in Lederle GRC.

A Dictionary of Biology
UM Science Ref QH302.5 .D54 2004
Short definitions with some line drawings.

Collins Web-linked dictionary of biology
UM Science Ref QH302.5 .H34 2006
Emphasis on cellular and evolutionary biology. Contains an appendix with links to biology history, careers, etc.

Encyclopedia of life sciences
UM Science Ref QH302.5 .E525 2002
Twenty-volume set from the Nature Publishing Group.

Encyclopedia of aquaculture
UM Science Ref SH20.3 .E53 2000 +
Articles outline culture of water-living creatures, abalone to zooplankton, and more.

 

 

Course and Textbook Websites

BEST PRACTICES FOR WILDLIFE CONTROL OPERATORS
Online manual developed by Cornell University and the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation to train people who are licensed to deal with nuisance wildlife.

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageNaka Ishii
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
Send Email

Subjects:
Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait