NRE Prof Writing W&FCon 571 Fisheries Science & Mgmt
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Natural Resources Conservation 

Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/nrc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

W&FCon 571 Fisheries Science & Mgmt             Print Page
  
 

Governmental pubs

 

Essential Fish Habitat publications (New England & Mid-Atlantic)
Descriptions and identification for individual species from the U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service, Northeast Fisheries Science Center.

Website explanation of Essential Fish Habitat concepts and issues.
Factsheet (pdf format) on Essential Fish Habitat and the Magnuson-Stevens Act.

 

FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department, Food and Agriculture Organization, United Nations. From this webpage, link to fisheries statistics and other publications from the Department, such as The State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture.

We also have, in paper, FAO Yearbook, Fisheries Statistics, UM Science Reference  SH1 .Y4.  Statistics for 2006 issued in 2008 in paper with a CD-ROM as FAO Yearbook, Fisheries and Aquaculture Statistics.

Voyage to other web sites

Suggestions welcome.  This box lifted wholesale from Linda Matson's Coastal & Marine Sciences subject guide.

 
 

Best Databases for Fisheries

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts ystarsmall.gif
Searches articles from serial publications, books, reports, and conference proceedings published 1971-present, with several hundred citations earlier than 1971.

Agricola ystarsmall.gif
Broad coverage of "applied biology" including aquaculture and fisheries. Citations from journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. Produced by the US Dept of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. 1970-present.

CAB Abstracts ystarsmall.gif
Indexes journal articles and other material on agriculture, including fisheries, produced by the British Commonwealth
Agricultural Bureaux. 1910-present.

Other useful databases:

Oceanic Abstracts - Technical literature on marine and brackish-water environment from 1981 forward
Environment Index - Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.
Animal Behaviour Abstracts (current and previous year only)
Zoological Record - Animal research from 1864 forward
Biological Abstracts - Biology research from 1969 forward
Biological and Agricultural Index - Research literature from 1984 forward
Web of Science; Science Citation Abstracts - High impact research in all sciences from 1900 forward

 

Journals for fisheries

Search for journals we subscribe to using "Subject begins with" in the UMass Amherst Library Catalog

   Aquatic biology – Periodicals
   Fishes – Periodicals
   Fisheries – Periodicals
   Freshwater biology – Periodicals
   Marine biology – Periodicals

Or see E-journals available to you in "Find E-Journals" by Category: Agriculture Sciences, subcategory Fisheries and Aquaculture


Selected journal titles - links go to e-journal access;
Call numbers and holdings in the UMass Amherst Du Bois and Science libraries, for paper version of journals

Fish and fisheries

Full text available: Mar 2000-.
(Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 12 months are not available) through Academic Search Premier (a research database)
Note: issues from current year available through interlibrary loan.

Fisheries research

Full text available: 1995-

Fisheries science : FS

Full text available: Feb 2000-.
(Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 12 months are not available.)
Note: issues from current year available through interlibrary loan.

Fishery bulletin (National Marine Fisheries Service)

Full text available: 1979- (more coming)

Freshwater biology

Full text available: 1997-

Per QH96 .A1 F73
UM/W.E.B. Du Bois  has 13 (1983) - 22 (1989)
Note: issues from 1990-1996 available through interlibrary loan.

ICES journal of marine science : journal du conseil

Full text available: 50 (1993)-

Per GC1.I64
UM/Science  has 48 (1991) - 58(2001)

International review of hydrobiology

Full text available: 85 (2000)-

Per QH90.I5
UM/Science  has 83 (1998)-


Journal of fish biology

Full text available: 42(1993)-

Per SH1.J6
UM/Science  has: 36 (1990) - 59 (2001)
UM/W.E.B. Du Bois  has 1 (1969) - [23 (1983)] - 35 (1989)


Journal of ichthyology

Per QL614.J6
UM/Science  has 30 (1990)-
UM/W.E.B. Du Bois has 10 (1970) - [14 (1974)] - 29 (1989)

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageNaka Ishii
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
Send Email

Subjects:
Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait