STATE RESOURCES
- Mass.Gov
Includes state-sponsored links to maps, government agencies, demographics, and the Commonwealth Museum. - Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System (MACRIS)
Database of Massachusetts Historical Commission. Includes information on some historical properties. - Massachusetts Historical Commission
Identifies, evaluates, and protects important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth. Use the index to see a rich listing of links, which includes up-to-date information as well as historical data. - Massachusetts Historical Society
Valuable gateway to a variety of resources. Thematic areas contain scholarly essays and digitized historical documents. - Massachusetts State Archives
Organized by agency and date from 1629 to the present, illuminating the structure of the state's government. Genealogy and African-American history are also covered. Searchable online resources are available from 1629 to 1799.
LOCAL RESOURCES
- Directory of Massachusetts Historical Societies
Comprehensive directory of history and historical society Web sites in Massachusetts. - E-Podunk
Detailed profiles of all towns in Massachusetts; based on census data and other sources. - Emily Dickinson Museum Includes material on the poetess, her home, and that of her relatives.
- Freedom Trail Resource for the history of Boston and the American Revolution.
- Geologic History of the Connecticut River Valley near Greenfield, MA
Overview of paleolithic to contemporary history, including many references. - Hammond Castle Home of John Hays Hammond, Jr., and his laboratory dedicated to research in radio technology.
- Historic Deerfield Includes video introduction and interactive map.
- Lizzie Borden House History of the famous 19th-century murders and related resources.
- Local and Regional Archives and Manuscript Repositories
Links of regional interest, including archives and manuscript repositories, online collections, preservation, genealogy, Robert Frost, and Emily Dickinson. - Lowell National Historical Park On the history of the Merrimack Valley and the textile industry.
- Memorial Hall Museum
Located in Old Deerfield, MA, this historic hub features 19 exhibition rooms (e.g., 1704 Raid on Deerfield) and a calendar of public events of historic interest. The site includes a link to its Online Museum. - Millers River Watershed
Current information about the Millers River Watershed, authored by the Executive Office of Environmental Affairs of the Massachusetts state government. Click here for additional Information about PCBs in the Millers River Watershed. - Minute Man National Park and Historic Battleground Website devoted to Lexington and Concord and their relation to the American Revolution.
- Mohawk Trail
Includes a history of the trail, points of interest, and a detailed map. - Paul Revere House Dedicated to matters related to the American patriot.
- Salem, MA Portal to the city, both historical and present-day.
- Visit New England
Listing of history museums and galleries in the Pioneer Valley. - Whaling Museum Exhibits and other resources on whaling and maritime history.
GENERAL RESOURCES
- American Folklife Center
Library of Congress site featuring a collection of more than 4,000 collections of images, sounds, written accounts, and other items of cultural documentation from all 50 states, as well as U.S. trusts, territories, and the District of Columbia. - American Memory
Library of Congress site providing free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. - DoHistory
Interactive program that teaches basic skills and techniques for interpreting fragments that survive from any period in history. The case study example is based on research from the 200-year-old diary of midwife/healer Martha Ballard. - Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the U.S. from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. - Mass Moments
Daily almanac of Massachusetts history covering different stories about events and people in the recorded history of Massachusetts. Includes images, illustrations, primary sources, documents, associated links, and a timeline to see when a given "Moment" o - U.S. Census Bureau
Detailed information covering most communities in the U.S. Summary population statistics are broken down by age, ethnicity, education, income, language(s) spoken, and ancestry. - U.S. Cities Gazetteer
Profiles offering census, demographic and income data, parks, schools, libraries, hospitals, airports, hotels, environmental conditions, local newspapers, media outlets, employment, maps, and coordinates and aerial photos for cities throughout the U.S. Al - Women Working, 1800-1930
Access to 500,000 digitized pages and images focusing on women's roles in the U.S. Selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info:
Collection Development
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 545-3981
(413) 577-2565 (fax)
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Film Studies, German and Scandinavian Studies, History, Journalism, Library Science, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Slavic and East European Studies, Theater
Collection Development
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 545-3981
(413) 577-2565 (fax)
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Film Studies, German and Scandinavian Studies, History, Journalism, Library Science, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Slavic and East European Studies, Theater
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 



Loading content... please wait