Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Astronomy 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/astronomy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles / Reports             Print Page
  
 

Deciding Search Terms

Sometimes the hardest thing about searching for journal articles is deciding what search terms to use.  Try to simplify your search by using the most basic terms or key phrases. 

 

Connecting to articles

Database Locator

E-Journals

 
 

Databases

Try these databases to search for journal articles about topics in Astronomy.


Accessing databases from off-campus requires that you log-in with your OIT username and password.


Web of Science  Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.  Works poorly with Safari. 

Inspec  Comprehensive index of articles and other scholarly work on electrical engineering: electronics, control engineering, telecom, computing, IT, etc., 1898-present.

Scitation  The journals of six key physics and engineering societies, 1893-present.


ISI Proceedings  Indexes published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and conventions in the sciences and social sciences, 2001-present.  Works poorly with Safari.

Science Direct  Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.

SciFinder Scholar  Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's-present.  Access available via SciFinder Web or SciFinder Scholar (client). SciFinder Web requires account registration with UMass Amherst email account. SciFinder Scholar requires download of client. License terms require that users connect to SciFinder Web or SciFinder Scholar through a computer on the UMass Amherst network. Off-campus access using the client (Scholar) is available via dial-up connections to OIT only.


NACA Technical Report Server  Archival NACA (predecessor of NASA) reports.

NASA Technical Reports Server
  References to Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR), journal articles, conference reports, 1958 -present.


 

Subject Guide

Profile ImagePaulina Borrego
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait