Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Mathematics & Statistics 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/math  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Math Call Numbers

Find Library Materials by Call Number

The Library Catalog provides a call number and location for each item. The call number consists of an alphanumeric string based on the Library of Congress classification system. View an example of how to read a call number. Materials on Mathematics reside primarily in the QA call number area. Specific topics follow.

QA 1-939 Mathematics

QA 1-43 General

QA 47-59 Tables

QA 71-90 Instuments & Machines

QA 101-145 Elementary Mathematics

QA 150-272.5 Algebra

QA 273-280 Probabilities

QA 299.6-433 Analysis

QA 440-699 Geometry

QA 801-939 Analytic mechanics

 

 
 

Where to Start

To gather background information about a topic try a dictionary, encyclopedia or general database to get articles about a subject.


Encyclopedias:

  • Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics  A scholarly encyclopedia from Elsevier, with an easy-to-follow subject tree arrangement. Each article includes a thorough bibliography. Current.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online  The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and NYT for current news.

General Databases:

  • Academic Search Premier  A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.

 


Handbooks:

 

eBooks

Springer eBooks - Full text books and journal articles from science publisher Springer, mainly in English, 2005-8.  Some soft cover editions of books are available through MyCopy service for $24.95 (including shipping and handling).

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImagePaulina Borrego
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait