Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology 

Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/bmb  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

Deciding Search Terms

Sometimes the hardest thing about searching for journal articles is deciding what search terms to use.  Try to simplify your search by using the most basic terms or key phrases. 

 

Connecting to articles

Database Locator

E-Journals

 
 

Databases

Try these databases to search for journal articles about topics in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. 


Accessing databases from off-campus requires that you log-in with your OIT username and password.


Web of Science  Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.  Works poorly with Safari.

Biological Abstracts  Comprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.


Biological and Agricultural Index  Articles in about 300 scholarly journals on agriculture, food production, nutrition, forestry, marine biology and plant pathology, 1984-present. 

BioMed Central  Free (open source) access to federally funded peer-reviewed biomedical research in over 100 recent journals.

BioOne  Bioscience research journals in full text, 1998-present.

Genetics Abstracts  Citations to articles on genetics research, updated monthly. Current year and last year.

ISI Proceedings  Indexes published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and conventions in the sciences and social sciences, 2001-present.  Works poorly with Safari.

PubMed  National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present.

Science Direct  Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.

SciFinder Scholar  Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's-present.  Access available via SciFinder Web or SciFinder Scholar (client). SciFinder Web requires account registration with UMass Amherst email account. SciFinder Scholar requires download of client. License terms require that users connect to SciFinder Web or SciFinder Scholar through a computer on the UMass Amherst network. Off-campus access using the client (Scholar) is available via dial-up connections to OIT only.

Zoological Record  Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.

  

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImagePaulina Borrego

Contact me

Profile ImageMaxine Schmidt
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6739
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, geology, geography, resource economics, environmental sciences

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait