Last Updated: Jul 21, 2010
- History Department
- UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- Boston Public Library
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY. Click on this link and then on the link for "My Account" to find the application form.
- Academic OneFile
A large, interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences. Covers 1975 to present.
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history, 1954-present.
- Lexis/Nexis Congressional
Congressional hearings 1824-2010, plus the Serial Set, bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, and Congressional Research Service reports.
- Readers' Guide Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1983-present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines, 1890-1982.
- American Decades Primary Sources
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
- American Factfinder
Data from the 2000 US Decennial Census of Population and Housing, and more recent Annual Economic Surveys and Community Surveys.
- American National Biography Online
Two- to three-page biographies of 17,500 Americans from earliest history to current day, with occupation and birthplace searching and some pictures, 1600-present.
- Biography Resource Center
Brief biographies from Who's Who and other sources. Current.
- Dictionary of American History
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
- Digital Sanborn Maps
Very detailed maps of New England towns and cities as they were in the 19th and early 20th centuries. There are several versions over time of most maps, 1867-1970. To use this database, click on the link, choose Digital Sanborn Maps, and then log in using your OIT username and password.
- Historical Boston Globe
The entire Boston Globe, searchable, in image files, 1872-1924.
- Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
- Oxford Companion to United States History
With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
- Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative statistics from several U.S. agencies on society, trade, the government, and much more. Curren
- AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Collection of primary sources.
- American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Collection of primary sources.
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
To provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, a core group of current and historical Government publications is being made available for free, permanent, public access via GPO Access.
- Historical Maps of the United States
From the University of Texas at Austin Libraries.
- Making of America (Cornell)
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Making of America (Michigan)
Alternative to the Cornell site. Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
- National Archives Presidential Libraries
- National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: History: United States
Gateway to primary and secondary sources.
Research and Liaison Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 577-1536 (fax)Send Email
, Film Studies
, German and Scandinavian Studies
, Library Science
, Medieval Studies
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European Studies