Using the databases
It's always best to tailor your searches to approrpiate databases. The Research Database page is very helpful--if you want to involve psychology in any way, you would click on that link; there are pages for sociology, anthropology, health, etc.
E-Resources
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
Second edition (2007) of standard reference work on the Jewish religion and people. - Index to Jewish Periodicals
Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs, 1988 to present. - Index Islamicus
Comprehensively covers periodicals, books, book chapters, conference proceedings on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, 1906-present. - ATLA Religion Database
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present. - Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
An index to articles and other scholarly literature on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, 1900-present. - Europa World Year Book
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current. - RAMBI: Index of Article on Jewish Subjects Citation index located at the Jewish National and University Library in Israel.
- American Jewish Year Book Digitized text of The American Jewish Year Book, 1899-2007, from the American Jewish Congress.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.
- Countries and their cultures Information on food, rituals, pastimes, arts, etc. of 200 nations.
- Steven Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library More than 10,000 Yiddish titles available free-of-charge through the Open Content Alliance and the National Yiddish Book Center.
- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia, Features over 1,700 biographies, 300 thematic essays, and 1,400 photographs and illustrations on a wide range of Jewish women through the centuries.
- Academic Islamic Studies and Middle East, Central Asian, and other Area Studies Sites Excellent website at the University of Georgia.
ArchNet
"ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations."
ArchNet has a digital image library, which can be accessed here. It does require individual registration to use.
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 




Loading content... please wait