Classification definitions and schedules
Use Tools to Help in Searching by Patent Classification to seach by class/subclass in the classification schedules to view subclass definitions, to find related class/subclass codes to search, and to view patents by class/subclass.
To view Class Definitions
- "Enter a US Patent Classification..." (Class/Subclass numbers)
- Select "Class Definition (HTML)"
- Click "Submit"
- To view patents classed under the definition, click the red 'P' to its left
- To view the subclass number schedule, click the number to the left
To view Class Schedules
- "Enter a US Patent Classification..." (Class/Subclass numbers)
- Select "Class Schedule (HTML)"
- Click "Submit"
- To view patents in a subclass, click the red 'P' to its left
- To view a definition of a subclass, click the subclass number to the left
Search by classification
First, search by keywords in Google Patent Search or the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database to identify relevant U.S. classifications.
Search Issued Patents by classification number
- Use the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Databases
- Click on "Quick Search" under "Issued Patents"
- In the "Select Years" field, change the pull-down to "1790 to present [entire database]"
- In "Term 1" enter the classification/subclassification (ex.: 119/51.04)
- In "Field 1" select "Current US Classification"
- Click "Search"
- Check results number at top of page
- Add keyword to refine search (use "Term 2" box on search form) if results number is large
- Browse the list of patent titlesView full-text of patents similar to your idea, by clicking on patent number or title
- To view images download free TIFF plug-in
Search Published Applications by classification number
- Use the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Databases
- Clickon "Quick Search" under "Published Applications"
- In "Term 1" enter class/subclass number (ex.: 428/403)
- In "Field 1" select "Current US Classification"
- Click "Search"
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 




Loading content... please wait