Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Art & Architecture Library Research Guide 

Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Arts databases            Print Page
  
 

Using the databases

It's always best to tailor your searches to approrpiate databases. The Research Database page is very helpful--if you want to involve psychology in any way, you would click on that link; there are pages for sociology, anthropology, health, etc.

 

Finding articles

To find articles in art and visual culture, try the following databases: 

  • Art Abstracts  
      
    An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.
  • Art Index Retrospective  
      
    An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art  
      
    Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.
  • ArtBibliographies Modern  
      
    Journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.
  • Grove Dictionary of Art  
      
    The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  
      
    Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.
  • Census of Antique Works of Art & Architecture Known in the Renaissance  
      
    The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait