Last Updated: Feb 15, 2012
To find out much of what the library has on this topic, try a SUBJECT search using some or all of these headings:
Civil Rights Movements United States
Civil Rights Workers [+ United States or individual states]
- History Department
- UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- Boston Public Library
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences. Covers 1975 to present.
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history, 1954-present.
- Black Studies Center
Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies.
- Black Thought and Culture
Collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the African American community from 1700s to 1975.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
- Historical Boston Globe
The entire Boston Globe, searchable, in image files, 1872-1979.
- Historical Chicago Defender
Influential black weekly newspaper, searchable, in image files, 1905-1975.
- Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
- Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
The following represent only a very small sample of the oral histories available from reliable online sources (usually universities and colleges or civil rights organizations). To find others, simply Google using the phrases "oral history" and "civil rights".
- American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Research and Liaison Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 577-1536 (fax)Send Email
, Film Studies
, German and Scandinavian Studies
, Library Science
, Medieval Studies
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European Studies