This is the "Home" page of the "Chinese Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chinese Bibliography  

This is a guide for the students in Chinese 570, who are learning about Chinese Bibliography and Research Methods
Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/chnbib Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

CHINESE E-BOOKS!!

UMass has a subscription to ChinaMaxx, which is a database of over 780,000 titles published in China. Our subscription allows you to see the first 17 pages of any book in the database. If you want the library to purchase full-access to the book, please use the "recommend" 推荐 button, and I (Sharon Domier) will purchase it for our virtual collection. 

Make sure you CLICK the box to the right of the search button! Otherwise you will get no hits on all searches!

You may enter search by keywords or browse by categories. You may also search within particular categories. If you choose Advanced Search, you can do a combination search of author, title, keyword and limit to particular years. You may order your results by title, author, or year of publication. Please use simplified Chinese for searching.  

You may not print out or save the entire book as a pdf. That capability is not included in this database.

Please send your questions to sdomier@library.umass.edu   and enjoy!

 

Getting Started

Students who are are about to begin doing research using Chinese materials have a lot to learn. Not just which are the best dictionaries and other reference tools to use, but how to actually use them. Are they arranged alphabetically or by radical. What the heck is the Four Corner system? Is it still relevant?

Rather than striking out blindly on your own using Google or Baidu, please learn from the researchers who have prepared a careful path for you. Here are two excellent resources for you to consult.

Alvin P. Cohen.  Introduction to Research in Chinese Source Materials. New Haven CT: Far Eastern Publications, Yale University, 2000. 751 pages. Twenty years of students at UMass used drafts of this text in their Chinese bibliography course. It is a time tested book that provides a wealth of details about the contents of important reference tools, their strengths and weaknesses, and how to use them.  Available: UMass East Asian Reference Z3101.A2 C64 2000

Benjamin Elman teaches Classical Historiography for Chinese History at Princeton University. He has created a website for his students, which includes bibliographies of important sources for bibliographies, biographies, geography, etc.

Once you know what you are doing and simply want a convenient way to find out if there is an online source, please consult the Internet Guide for Chinese Studies.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sharon Domier
Contact Info
Rm. 2249
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
tel: 413-577-2633
Send Email
About Me:
Sharon Domier has a B.A in East Asian Studies and an M.L.I.S from the University of Alberta. She also has a master's degree from the University of Library and Information Science in Japan.
 
© 2014 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip