This is the "Home" page of the "ChemEng 590B Tissue Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ChemEng 590B Tissue Engineering   Tags: tissue engineering  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/chemeng590B Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Encyclopedias

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia - Contains a 31 page article on "Tissue Engineering." 

                            

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Technology - Contains a 40 page article on "Biotechnology, 6. Special Applications" with a section on "Tissue Engineering."


Synthesis Digital Library - Peer-reviewed, expert reports on R&D topics in engineering and computer science. Includes Coll. 1-3 and CIS part of Coll. 4.

New RefWorks Page

 

Write-N-Cite

Use the Refworks Write-N-Cite plug-in to write your paper, insert references, and create a bibliography at the end of the paper.

 

Science Encyclopedias - Scaffolding to what you need to know

Science Encyclopedias are a great resource for gathering background information.  They act a good primers and are more authorative than Wikipedia.

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Comprehensive articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering, with bibliographies.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry  Covers the science and technology of industrial chemistry.

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry  Covers the chemistry of the compounds and processes that constitute living organisms.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology  Chemical biology is a cross-disciplinary science at the interface of chemistry, biology, and medicine emphasizing rigorous application of the principles, tools, and language of chemistry to important topics in biology.

Encyclopedia of Electrical & Electronics Engineering The ideal starting point for research projects, whether addressing basic questions in power systems and communications, or learning advanced applications in neural networks and robotics.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology  Providing information about polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes.

 

Databases

When searching in a database use the most important keywords for your search. Use Boolean Operators - AND, OR, NOT - to connect search terms.


Web of Science  Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.  Works poorly with Safari and does not work with IE9.

PubMed  National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present.

SciFinder Web  Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's-present.  SciFinder Web requires account registration with a UMass Amherst email account.  License terms requires that users connect to SciFinder Web though a computer on the UMass Amherst network.

Google Scholar  Use within UMass’ IP range to access many UMass online journal subscriptions. In Scholar Preferences, you can choose to export citations to RefWorks bibliographic manager.


Accessing databases from off-campus requires that you login using your IT username and password.


 

Specialized Databases

Biological Abstracts Comprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.

BioOne  Bioscience research journals in full text. IncludesBioOne.1, BioOne.2, and open access journals. Coverage varies; earliest is 1994-present.

Engineering Village Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.

IEEE Explore All IEEE journals (including Spectrum), standards, transactions, and major conference proceeding since 1988, plus some content since 1952, to present.

Inspec  Comprehensive index of articles and other scholarly work on electrical engineering: electronics, control engineering, telecom, computing, IT, etc., 1898-present.

Scitation The journals of six key physics and engineering societies, 1893-present.

Science & Engineering Librarian / PTRC Librarian

 

Grant Writing Info

Lexis Nexis Congressional - Use the Advanced Search feature to to find information about Stem Cell policy in CRS reports (Congressional Research Services).  Stem Cell Research: Science, Federal Research Funding, and Regulatory Oversite - dated August 24, 2012.

NIH Grant Writing

NIH - Grant Writing Tips Sheet

 

InterLibrary Loan

If you are not finding what you need, put in an InterLibrary Loan Request for the item.

Fast and easy - and FREE - the ILL librarians will find a library that has your item, ship it here for you to use, or in the case of a journal article scan it and send it to you via email.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip