History of Art and Architecture
Guide for research in Art History
Medieval Manuscripts and Facsimiles at UMass
The Libraries' collection of facsimiles is primarily housed in the Robert S. Cox Special Collections and University Archives Research Center (SCUA). These books are collected as the Medieval and Early Print Studies Collection. Try searching this phrase in Discovery Search, in quotations, to retrieve records for our facsimiles.
To view any facsimiles or other manuscript material, please contact the archivists in SCUA, or visit them on the 25th floor of Du Bois Library to make an appointment.
- Medieval and Early Print Studies CollectionThe finding aid for the collection. Includes link to a spreadsheet of most titles in the collection.
Other resources
- British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts: GlossariesIllustrated glossary of technical and other terms for understanding illuminated manuscripts.
- Douay-Rheims BibleTranscription the Douay-Rheims Catholic Bible and Latin Vulgate.
- Hypertext Book of HoursTranscription of the text and devices of a typical Book of Hours.
Books of Hours Reconsidered by Call Number: ND3363.A1 B67 2013ISBN: 9781905375943Publication Date: 2013-10-28
Making Medieval Manuscripts by Call Number: Z6 .D47 2018ISBN: 9781851244683Publication Date: 2018-08-17
Manuscript Illumination in the Modern Age by Call Number: ND2893 .H36 2001ISBN: 9780941680219Publication Date: 2001-01-01Three hundred years ago, now treasured medieval manuscripts were scorned, neglected and left to vandals. An exhibit held at the Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art early in 2001, sought to explore new ideas and perspectives on the destruction and reconstitution of illuminated manuscripts in the 18th and 19th centuries in France and England and in the early 20th century in America. Although many questions remain unanswered, the research presented in this Catalogue to accompany the exhibition helps define the field of study for the future. With 159 black-and-white illustrations and 38 beautiful color plates, bibliography and index.
Medieval Illuminators and Their Methods of Work by Call Number: ND2920 .A44 1992ISBN: 0300056893Publication Date: 1992-12-23
The Scientific Analysis of Illuminated Manuscripts by Call Number: ND2900 .A78 2020ISBN: 9781912554591Publication Date: 2021-02-11
Illuminated Manuscripts in SCUA
- SCUA MS 963Catalog entry for MS 963, the first Book of Hours in SCUA's collection.
- SCUA MS 1057Catalog entry for Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Gertrud (Cologne, Germany) Book of Hours, ca. 1481-1488.
- SCUA MS 1060Catalog entry for MS 1060, Ordo ad consecrandum virginum [Order for the consecration of nuns], ca. 1370.
- SCUA MS 1077Catalog entry for MS 1077, a Book of Hours (Use of Bourges), ca. 1460.
- SCUA MS 1108Catalog entry for MS 1108, Real Chancillería de Granada, Carta executoria de hidalguia (Spain)
- Otto F. Ege, Fifty Original Leaves from Medieval ManuscriptsCatalog entry for MS 570, SCUA's edition of Ege's Fifty Original Leaves from Medieval Manuscripts
