History 450 China and the US (Junior Year Writing Seminar in History)
Library resources for travel narratives, missionary and diplomatic accounts, popular press coverage and other sources that bring to life what China has meant to Americans, and what America has meant to Chinese, over the course of the last two centuries.
Use this database to search for collections on your topic. View the finding aids to see exactly what kinds of materials are in the files. Click on the Advanced Search button and then do a subject search on China. You may also add another keyword to get at the topic you want to research.
For example, Du Bois in China or Britta Fischer, U.S.-China Peoples Friendship Association Photograph Collection, 1978, W. L. Holland Papers, 1922-2008, Agnes Smedley Photograph Collection, and others.
"Visualising China is a JISC-funded project to allow users to explore and enhance more than 8000 digitised images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950. It allows access to many previously unseen albums, envelopes and private collections and also major collections such as Historical Photographs of China, the Sir Robert Hart Collection and Joseph Needham's Photographs of Wartime China."
"The Old China Hands Archive was established in the fall of 1996 to preserve and publicize the heritage of the many people from other countries and cultures who have resided and worked in China. The Archive is located in the Special Collections and Archives Department of the University Library at California State University, Northridge."
"The China Archive is a data archive dedicated to support of scholarly, empirical research by anthropologists, economists, historians, political scientists, sociologists, and others in the fields of business, agriculture, and engineering. The goal of the Archive is to enable case research on Chinese domestic matters and China-U.S. relations, as well as to facilitate the inclusion of China in more broadly comparative studies."--Introduction
"Following the Rock & Roll craze of the late 1980s and early 1990s, Hip Hop has become the latest musical genre, lifestyle, and culture to capture the attention of Chinese youth. From the western metropolises of Urumqi and Xining to the booming coastal cities of Shanghai and Guangzhou, Chinese Hip Hop heads are creating new sights, sounds, and styles of Hip Hop. "
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 42 collections consisting of over 103,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 719,000 total pages.