Physics
How can I help you?
Anne Graham
she/her
Contact:
Room A273 Lederle Graduate Research Center Lowrise
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-93006
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-93006
413-545-1743
Find a Topic
Not sure where to start? Try these tips:
- Start where you are. Think about topics that might be of interest to you. What do you already know? What would you like to know? What class papers or discussion caught your attention? Skim over your reading list or textbook for more ideas.
- Search for relevant current events in: Physics Today, Physics (APS), IOP News, or Physics World.
- Search for overview articles on current physics topics in: Reviews of Modern Physics.
Use the UMass Amherst ejournal search to access our subscription to these journals.
- Reviews of Modern PhysicsWritten by leading international researchers, RMP’s in-depth essays provide outstanding coverage of a topic and give context and background for current research trends.
Background Information: Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Background information on your topic to help you:
- Focus your topic
- Define specific terms and phrases
- Identify experts in the field
Encyclopedias and Handbooks are all excellent places to find more background information. Here is a list of some:
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. - Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more.
POF Handbook: Optical Short Range Transmission Systems by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783540766285Publication Date: 2008-02-21Written by some of the best known POF experts from Germany, one of the leading countries in POF technology, this is the most comprehensive introduction and survey of POF data communication systems currently available. Half a decade after it was first published, this second edition has been completely revised and updated; it has doubled in size. It features recent experimental results, and more than 1000 figures, 600 references and numerous tables complete the text.
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780125126663Publication Date: 2004-02-28The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics enables readers to access basic information on topics peripheral to their own areas, to provide a repository of the core information in the area that can be used to refresh the researcher's own memory banks, and aid teachers in directing students to entries relevant to their course-work. The Encyclopedia does contain information that has been distilled, organised and presented as a complete reference tool to the user and a landmark to the body of knowledge that has accumulated in this domain. It also is a stimulus for new researchers working in mathematical physics or in areas using the methods originating from work in mathematical physics by providing them with focused high quality background information.
