Skip to main content

Commonwealth College: Dean's Book Course

Patricia Gorman

Reference resources

 

Old books

 

Reference materials are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, etc. They are intended to provide quick, reliable information, summaries of complex matters, and, very importantly, bibliographies--suggestions for futher reading.

 

These reference materials are invariably written by experts in their fields, so they are more trustworthy than Wikipedia--all have gone through a process of editorial review. For an illustrated explanation, see the home page presentation, "What is a referred or scholarly article?"

 

Note: I may use the term books here, but many reference sources are available online, full-text.

Reference sources

Print reference works on Native Americans

From E51 to E98 in the Reference Collection, Main floor, you will find encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries on Native American culture in North America, including (but not limited to)

The Encyclopedia of North American Indians 11v.
E76.2 E53 1997

Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia
E76.2 N36 1994

The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. 4v.
E77 G15 1998

Handbook of North American Indians. 17v.
E77 H36

Who Was Who in Native American History
E89 W35 1990

American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia 3v.
E 98 R3 C755 2005

American Indian Reservations and Trust Areas
E93 A455 1996

Statistical Record of Native North Americans
E98 P76 S73 1993

 

 

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.