Skip to main content

RefWorks

Manage citations and create formatted bibliographies in various output styles (e.g. MLA, APA, Chicago).

RefWorks Help

Need help with RefWorks:

RefWorks YouTube Channel

Schedule an appointment with a UMass Amherst Librarian

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

1.     Can I open two accounts in RefWorks at the same time?
Yes. Open your browser a second time by selecting it from the Program menu or by clicking on the icon on your desktop or task bar. (Do not open another window by selecting File, New, Window --this will only re-open the first RefWorks account).

2.     Can a RefWorks account be shared by a group? 
Yes. An individual may create more than one account using the same email address, but with different usernames and passwords for each account. This feature can be useful for group projects, where multiple people can add, delete, or change references for one of the accounts.

3.     Is there a limit to the size of my database?
No. Your database may contain an unlimited number of references.

4.     Is there a limit to the data I can put in the notes, abstract, and user defined fields?
These fields are limited to 1 gigabyte of information.

5.     Where are my RefWorks bibliographies stored?
Your bibliographic information is stored on the RefWorks server. 

6.     How do I import citations from library databases or the Library Catalog into RefWorks? 
Most databases allow you to export your selected citations directly into your RefWorks account. To locate these directions, please look at the Database Import Instructions section of the RefWorks resource guide.

7.     When I try to export citations from a database to RefWorks, nothing happens. What do I do?
First, see if the popup window blocker is set on your browser.


Firefox: click the button with three lined on it at the top of the screen.  Then click the “content” tab and see if the pop-up blocker is checked.  If so, click “Exceptions” and add “www.refworks.com.”

Internet Explorer: click the gear on the upper right side of the screen and choose “Internet Options.”  Then, click the “privacy” tab and see if “turn on pop-up blocker” is checked.  If so, click “settings” and add “www.refworks.com” to allowed websites.

Chrome: Click the chrome menu button (with three lines) on the right side of the screen.  In the “privacy” section; click “content settings” and see if the pop-up blocker is checked.  If so, click “Manage Exceptions” and add “www.refworks.com.”

8.     How do I back up my citations? 
Select the Backup/Restore link under the References menu. Select Include References (for the database) and/or Include Output Styles (for outputs). Click “Perform Backup.” Save the file as a .zip file. (Do not change the extension of the file as refworks will not be able to restore if you do). Click to see a video about how to backup citations

9.     How do I import citations from EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager?
To import records into RefWorks from other citation software, see Converting Records from Other Bibliographic Management Programs.

10.   How do I export my RefWorks citations to EndNote?
From RefWorks, go to the “References” menu and select “Export.”
Choose “Bibliographic Software” and save this file to your computer.
In EndNote, go to the “File” menu and select “Import.” Locate the file on your computer and for "import option" choose "Reference Manager RIS."

11.   Is RefWorks compatible with Latex/BibTeX? 
Yes. After you've input your citations into RefWorks, select “Bibliography” button select “BibTeX” as the output format. Select “Base Bibliography on Reference List” and select “RTF” as the File Type to Create. Click “Create Bibliography.” This will create an “RTF” with your citations in BibTeX format.

12.   What happens when I graduate or leave UMass for another institution with RefWorks access?
If your new institution has a RefWorks subscription, just contact RefWorks and they will transfer your data.  You may also want to do this yourself: The first way is to create a backup of one account, and restore the file in the other account. However, this is only suggested when one account has just been created or has no valuable references in the account.  For populated accounts, export references in a RefWorks Tagged Format and save the text file that is presented. Then log in to the other account and import that text file using the RefWorks Tagged Format Import Filter. You will need to export the references from each account that you no longer want/need.  Once all of the references have been imported from the other accounts, go back through your document and update your citations. When the references are imported in to the account, the reference ID's will change. Those will need to be updated.

13.   What happens when I graduate UMass but still want access to my RefWorks account?
Simply update your user information (aka Profile in 2.0) by changing the User Type to Alumni. Update the email address with your new alumni email address or a personal address. You will be prompted for the Group Code: RWUMASSA

14.   I am a graduate of UMass but never used RefWorks. How do I set up a RefWorks account for the first time?
(a) Register with Maroon Central to obtain a 10-digit alumni ID. You can also contact the Alumni Association at 1-800-456-8627 or alumni@admin.umass.edu. (b) Apply online for an alumni e-mail (forwarding) account; you will be asked for your alumni ID.   (c) Once you've established an alumni e-mail address, send a message to refworks@library.umass.edu and ask for the Group Code to access your RefWorks account. You will need the Group Code each time you log in. (d) To set up your RefWorks account, go to www.refworks.com/rwsingle.Under User Type, select Alumni. 

15.   I’m new to UMass. How do I transfer my RefWorks data from the previous school I attended?
Once you sign up for an individual account at UMass, contact RefWorks to transfer your data for you. You may also want to do this yourself: The first way, is to create a backup of one account, and restore the file in the other account. However, this is only suggested when one account has just been created or has no valuable references in the account.  For populated accounts, export references in a RefWorks Tagged Format and save the text file that is presented. Then log in to the other account and import that text file using the RefWorks Tagged Format Import Filter. You will need to export the references from each account that you no longer want/need.  Once all of the references have been imported from the other accounts, go back through your document and update your citations. When the references are imported in to the account, the reference ID's will change. Those will need to be updated.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.