Skip to main content

RefWorks

Manage citations and create formatted bibliographies in various output styles (e.g. MLA, APA, Chicago).

RefWorks Help

Need help with RefWorks:

RefWorks YouTube Channel

Schedule an appointment with a UMass Amherst Librarian

Instructions for Exporting Citations to RefWorks

To find the import instructions to RefWorks:

1. Return to the database locator http://library.umass.edu/collections?q=
2. Type the name of the database you want to search into the search box

3. When it appears, click the vendor image to the left of the database name
    For example, for Academic Search Premier click  logoEhost 

3. When the next window opens (shown below) Click "Usage."

4. The directions will be there

Search Library Catalogs from within RefWorks

To search other library catalogs or Pubmed from within RefWorks

From within RefWorks:

Click Search from the top menu bar and then on the drop-down menu that appears, select Online Catalog or Database

In the Search box click the down arrow to choose the catalog (or PubMed) to search; UMass is the default setting

Searches can be conducted in either Quick using keyword searching or Advanced modes using title, author, descriptors (subject), or any field (keyword).

Tutorials

Adding References:

Using Direct Export

Searching Online Catalogs or Databases

Importing Text Files
(when Direct Export is not Available)

Manual Entry

Ref Grab-It (for Websites)

RSS feeds

Tutorials

Editing References:

Editing Many References at Once

Attaching Articles to Citations:

Attaching Full Text Articles to Citations 

Organizing and Managing Folders:

Organizing References into Folders

Managing Folders

Searching for References:

Using Quick Search

Using Advanced Search and Lookups

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.