Skip to main content

Genealogy

A guide to selected genealogical resources at the W.E.B. Du Bois Library.

Introduction

edit Introduction

 

Vital records contain essential genealogical information - birth, marriage, and death dates. Vital records information may also appear in such secondary sources as church, court, military, and probate records; census schedules; city directories; newspapers; pension applications; and tombstone inscriptions.

The W.E.B. Du Bois Library's collection is especially rich in Massachusetts resources and also includes some vital records from other states, Canada, and Europe.

Guides

  • Red book: American state, county, and town sources  Edit or Delete Book #23031
    Call Number: Reference CS 49 R44 2004
    A handbook for genealogical research in every state. Examines the availability and locations of vital, census, local history, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records.


  • The librarian's guide to public records/taken directly from the database of The Public Record Research Library  Edit or Delete Book #24836
    Call Number:  JK 468 P76 L53 1996
    Lists contact information for "major state and county level government agencies where public records are maintained." Includes vital records information for each state.
  • Selective List of Materials in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library

    Red book: American state, county, and town sources 
    Call Number: Reference CS 49 R44 2004
    A handbook for genealogical research in every state. Examines the availability and locations of vital, census, local history, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records.

    The librarian's guide to public records/taken directly from the database of The Public Record Research Library 
    Call Number: JK 468 P76 L53 1996
    Lists contact information for "major state and county level government agencies where public records are maintained." Includes vital records information for each state.

    Catholic Church records of the Pacific Northwest: Oregon City Register (1842-1890), Salem Register (1864-1885), Jacksonville Register (1854-1885) - Munnick, Harriet Duncan 
    Call Number: F 875 M86 1984

    Dictionnaire national des Canadiens francais (1608-1760) 
    Call Number: CS 88 Q4 D5 1965 t. 1-3
    The first two volumes of this set, also known as "The red Drouin books" and the "National Dictionary of French Candians," contain abstracts of Quebec marriage records. The most complete entries list the bride, groom, their parents, and their date and place of marriage. The place of origin also appears for marriages of the first person who came to Canada. Volume 3 contains coats of arms, signature examples, and "articles written to give prestige to our ancestors."

    The registers of the parish of Aldingham in Furness in the County of Lancaster. Baptisms, burials & weddings, 1542-1695 
    Call Number: CS 436 A395

    Find More

    Search the Library Catalog by Subject. Example of subject search:

    Registers of births, etc. - England - Bristol

     

    © 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.