Geology
How can I help you?
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-93006
Library Books for more in-depth information
Discovery Search
You can search for books and articles at UMass Amherst, the Five Colleges and worldwide libraries using Discovery Search. Discovery Search searches many resources all at once, but does not include all of our databases.
Reviewing Search Results
When your search is complete, the results can be narrowed using the limiters on the left. If a book is at one of the Five Colleges, you can request it to come to UMass Amherst using the Request Item link above the box with information about the book. If the book is not owned by any of the Five Colleges, UMass community members can borrow it through the UMass Libraries InterLibrary Loan service.
When you find a book that seems useful, click on the title to open the full record for that book. Look at the Subject Terms assigned to that book; if you see one that looks good, click that to get other titles that have been given that subject heading.
Books for Background Information and Keyword Gathering
Background information on your topic helps you define specific terms and phrases.
General Encyclopedias in our Databases list:
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. - Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.
For more specific encyclopedias try an Advanced Discovery search with the words Geology AND Encyclopedia in the title field. Use the dropdown menu to the right of the search box to select the Title field. This image is a link to Discovery search.
Encyclopedias in our collection
Encyclopedia of Geology by Call Number: UM Science Reference QE5 .E516 2005ISBN: 0126363803Publication Date: 2004-12-16This five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science by Call Number: UM Science Reference: QE741 .E53 2007ISBN: 9780444519191Publication Date: 2006-11-24The quaternary sciences constitute a dynamic, multidisciplinary field of research that has been growing in scientific and societal importance in recent years. This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion. With over 360 articles and 2,600 pages, many in full-color, the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science provides broad ranging, up-to-date articles on all of the major topics in the field. Written by a team of leading experts and under the guidance of an international editorial board, the articles are at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest information in the field. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2006) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology by Call Number: UM Science TA704 .E53 2018ISBN: 9783319735665Publication Date: 2018-08-03This volume addresses the multi-disciplinary topic of engineering geology and the environment, one of the fastest growing, most relevant and applied fields of research and study within the geosciences. It covers the fundamentals of geology and engineering where the two fields overlap and, in addition, highlights specialized topics that address principles, concepts and paradigms of the discipline, including operational terms, materials, tools, techniques and methods as well as processes, procedures and implications. A number of well known and respected international experts contributed to this authoritative volume, thereby ensuring proper geographic representation, professional credibility and reliability. This superb volume provides a dependable and ready source of information on approximately 300 topical entries relevant to all aspects of engineering geology. Extensive illustrations, figures, images, tables and detailed bibliographic citations ensure that the comprehensively defined contributions are broadly and clearly explained. The Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology provides a ready source of reference for several fields of study and practice including civil engineers, geologists, physical geographers, architects, hazards specialists, hydrologists, geotechnicians, geophysicists, geomorphologists, planners, resource explorers, and many others. As a key library reference, this book is an essential technical source for undergraduate and graduate students in their research. Teachers/professors can rely on it as the final authority and the first source of reference on engineering geology related studies as it provides an exceptional resource to train and educate the next generation of practitioners.
