Chemistry

Getting started

These databases are a good place to begin your search for primary literature in chemical engineering and related fields:

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CAS SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FIRST-TIME USERS: Click more... below to create an account to use SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's - present. Includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
To use SciFinder, you must create an account using your UMass Amherst email address. Click here to create the account.

After initial account creation, available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Resources Specific to Chemistry

CAS SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) combined databases of chemistry and related scientific information. Mid 1800s-present.
To use SciFinder, you must create an individual account with your UMass Amherst email account, while on campus ethernet or eduroam. Create account here: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=223C70F1-86F3-F00A-118F-B22917E5118A&_ga=2.197007852.199826593.1543843796-1568598666.1536603175
If you have registered already, login with the link at the top.
To use SciFinder, you must create an account using your UMass Amherst email address. Click here to create the account.

After initial account creation, available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Find structures, properties, synthesis possibilities, reactions and bioactivity data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys also searches NIH PubChem and eMolecules.
Must create an account with a UMass Amherst email address to first use the database. After initial account creation, available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Cambridge Structural Database WebCSD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains crystal structure information, chemical, and bibliographic data for about 500,000 organic, metal-organic, and organometallic molecules.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standards for analytical chemists.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

The IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology Also known as the "Gold Book" this is a collection of nearly 7,000 terms. with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.

Specialized Library Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals of the Association for Computing Machinery, its conference proceedings, magazines, technical reports, and more, 1954-present. Includes some works published by affiliated organizations. Covers the fields of computing and information technology.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bioscience research journals in full text. Covers 179 titles from 136 society and nonprofit publishers, including some open access journals. Coverage varies; earliest is 1994-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All IEEE journals (including Spectrum), standards, transactions, and major conference proceedings since 1988, plus some content since 1952, to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. As of May 2022, IEEE no longer supports Internet Explorer, please use another browser for the best experience.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index of the scholarly literature of the mathematical sciences, 1940-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The leading journals and conference proceedings from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publishing. Topics include: Acoustics; Astronomy/astrophysics; Atomic/molecular physics; Biological physics; Energy; Geophysics; Materials science; Mathematical physics; Nanotechnology; Nuclear physics; optical physics; Particle physics; Physical chemistry; Plasma physics; Quantum mechanics; Rheology and fluid dynamics; Statistical physics.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window
Replaces DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations. Citations, and some full text, of US DOE research and development reports.1943-present.
Content is freely available for use by all.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Optics and photonics applied research information from eBooks, journals, and conference proceedings, 1989-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, expert reports on research and development topics in engineering and computer science; includes access to Complete Collections One, Two, Three, and Four.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.