SEARCHING THE LIBRARY CATALOG
Suggested SUBJECT HEADINGS for searching the catalog:
Kerouac, Jack; Ginsberg, Allen; Beat generation; Bohemianism-United States; Nineteen fifties; Nineteen sixties; United States Congress House Committee on Un-American Activities
ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
- UMass/Five College Online Catalog
- WorldCat
Combined catalog of most North American and many world libraries.
OTHER RESOURCES
- UMass Interlibrary Loan
- RefWorks
A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
REFERENCE SOURCES IN PRINT
- Beat Culture: Lifestyles, Icons, and Impact
Call Number: REF PS228.B6 B368 2005 - The Beats: A Documentary Volume
Call Number: REF PN451 .D5 v. 237 + - The Fifties in America
Call Number: REF E169.12 .F498 2005 - The Beats, Literary Bohemians in Postwar America
Call Number: REF PN451 .D5 v. 16 +
LIBRARY DATABASES
The best place to start when searching for biographical and critical works on Kerouac and Ginsberg, as well as Beat counterculture and American history:
- Academic Search Premier A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
- America: History and Life Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history, 1954-present. Some suggested SUBJECT HEADINGS for searching this database: beat generation; Kerouac, Jack; Ginsberg, Allen; counter culture; and social change.
- Left Index Citations to articles in leftist periodicals, on labor, ecology & environment, race, social & cultural theory.
- Literature Resource Center A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
- MLA International Bibliography An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, and linguistics. Coverage from 1920’s-present.
Related Resources In Print
- The Organization Man
Call Number: BF697 .W47
"Regarded as one of the most important sociological and business commentaries of modern times, The Organization Man developed the first thorough description of the impact of mass organization on American society." - The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit
Call Number: PS3573.I475 M29 1956
"Universally acclaimed when first published in 1955, The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit captured the mood of a generation. It was a national best-seller that was made into an award-winning film, it was translated into twenty-six languages, and its title has become a permanent part of our cultural vocabulary."
Subject Guide |
Contact Info:
Collection Development
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 545-3981
(413) 577-2565 (fax)
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Film Studies, German and Scandinavian Studies, History, Journalism, Library Science, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Slavic and East European Studies, Theater
Collection Development
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 545-3981
(413) 577-2565 (fax)
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Film Studies, German and Scandinavian Studies, History, Journalism, Library Science, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Slavic and East European Studies, Theater
Reserves Reading List
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 



Loading content... please wait