This is the "Journal articles" page of the "Arsenic summer project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Arsenic summer project  

for Prof. Julian Tyson, July 2012
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2012 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal articles Print Page

Access from off campus

Unless you have a UMass OIT username and password, you will not be able to access online subscriptions from off campus. That includes the databases, and most electronic journals. 

You are free to use the library's computers to access them when the libraries are open.

One exception to this is PubMed, which is a government database.  Government websites are open to everyone.  However, our links to the electronic journal articles will not work from off campus without that UMass ID.


Databases for finding articles

A sample of the many possibilities.

PubMed Star
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present. 

Web of Science Star
[Doesn't work with Internet Explorer 9. Works poorly with Safari.]
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in important English-language journals.
Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present. Includes many articles in full text.

SciFinder Web Star
[SciFinder Web requires account registration with UMass Amherst email account. SciFinder Web doesn't work with IE 6. Off-campus access must be through this link to the UMass SciFinder page.]
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's-present.

Google Scholar
Use within UMass’ IP range to access many UMass online journal subscriptions.
NOTE: Google doesn't reveal what journals it searches, nor how far back.


Citations include

  • author
  • title
  • source (publisher and place for books or nonprint materials; periodical title, volume, and pages for articles; URL for Web pages)
  • date

Databases often give you just the citation for the articles. To find the full article, use the button.

In Google Scholar, use "Get Full Text via UMLinks" to the right of the title.

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Naka Ishii
Contact Info
Sciences & Engineering Library
Lederle Graduate Research Ctr
Low-rise 2nd floor
My phone: (413) 545-1656
Main number: (413) 545-1370
Send Email
About Me:
orcid/0000-0002-8621-0097 ---- Want help with *your* orcid?
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Loading  Loading...