This is the "Home" page of the "The Arab Spring" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Arab Spring   Tags: hot topic  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/arabspring Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A quest for democracy

 

Egyptian street protest

Past weeks have seen an unprecedented wave of street protests in countries such as Tunisia, Jordan, and Egypt. Demands for greater political freedom, an end to corruption and abuses, high unemployment (especially among young people)  and rising prices have fueled street protests, which have succeeded in toppling Tunisia's long-reigning president.

The impact of Islamic political parties in these countries on "regime change" has yet to be determined.

Update: The ongoing civil war in Syria has produced a new blog: Syria Comment, "Syrian pollitics, history, and religion, " edited by Dr. Joshua Landis, Director, Center for Middle East Studies and Associate Professor, University of Oklahoma.

Keeping current:

There are a number of news organizations which are keeping track of the recent demonstrations and political unrest. They include

AlJazeera
English-language website of the Arabic news service, covering the Middle East and the Muslim world.

Mideast Views
Analysis, now focusing on the crisis in Syria, by Sami Moubayed, a Syrian specialist and native of Damascus.

Al-Arabiya
English-language website of the news channel.

BBC News
Highly-respected UK-based news service.

Arab Spring: An interactive timelineof Middle East protests.
Dynamic chart at The Guardian newspaper, London.

Arab Reform Bulletin
"The Arab Reform Bulletin is an online journal covering political, economic, and human rights developments in Arab countries as well as U.S. and European policy toward the region," under the auspices of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

Voice of America: Middle East
The United States government's news & information service.

Middle East News
News on the Middle East, continually updates from thousands of sources around the net.

Middle Eastern news site (English-sources)
World-newspaper.com, via Google.

Egypt Protest Resources
Compiled by the American Friends Service Committee

Library resources:

Europa World Year Book
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, etc.

EIU Country Reports
Reports on current economic, political and market conditions in 200 countries.

World Development Indicators
Bank international development indicators, 1960-.

Countries and Their Cultures
Information on food, rituals, pastimes, arts, etc. of 200 nations.

For further assistance on this topic, contact Peter Stern,  Judaic & Near Eastern Studies Bibliographer

 

Library Databases

Databases: Try databases which deal with Middle Eastern history, politics, or social issues, including

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies

Index Islamicus

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

International Political Science Abstracts

PAIS International

Columbia International Affairs Online

Academic Search Premier

PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Newspapers & news bulletins:

Middle East Newsstand
More than 30 current, full text newspaper French- and English-language newspapers from the Arab world, Israel, and the subcontinent.

Middle Eastern news site (English-sources)

LexisNexis Academic

CQ Researcher
Congressional Quarterly research bulletin.

Westlaw Campus Research

Combined book/article/media search
Search UMA WorldCat for books, articles, dissertations, films, Internet sites, archival sources, etc.

 

Books

Relevant subject headings for books in the Five Colleges catalog include

Politics and government--Egypt (Tunisia, Algeria, Libya, etc.)
History--Tunisia, etc.
Islam and politics
Gaddafi, Moamar - [More Info on this Term]
   See:  Qaddafi, Muammar
Assad, Bashir, 1965-

Syria -- Politics and government -- 2000-

Don't forget to take your search from the local to the national/international level by searching WorldCat for more books on this subject.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip