Anthropology
Librarian for Anthropology
Food & Culture
These page leads to library resources for research on food and culture.
Below are the most relevant databases of scholarly journal articles, which are usually the best sources for research papers. Also: basic library information and help with the writing process.The tabs to the left lead you to subject searches for circulating books, and to online and print encyclopedias on food and culture.
Databases for scholarly journal articles
If full-text isn't provided, click the red UMLinks button in the citation to check for other options.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present. - AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The full text of articles in 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth century. - eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing traces social features across cultures, 1983-present. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Library Basics
- How do IUse the library and do research!
- Especially for StudentsLibrary services for undergraduates
- Evaluating web sourcesA guide to deciding what's reliable, from Cornell University Library.
- What's a scholarly journal article?Why they're your best bet for research.
Citation Management
Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.
Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.
If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.
If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.
Writing Tools
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The widely-used citation and style guide for scholarly writing.
- Plagiarism Prevention ServiceAssess authorship and originality.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new windowDue to budget pressure, declining use, and increasing subscription cost, RefWorks was cancelled as July 31, 2021.
This record points to our Citation Managers guide where you can find help with Zotero and Mendeley.
Considerations that went into this decision include:
o Declining usage of RefWorks and continuing cost increases;
o Availability of free alternative citation management tools such as Zotero and Mendeley available to students, faculty, and researchers.
- Writing CenterGet help with writing in the Learning Commons.
