This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology 197L: Introduction to Latin American Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology 197L: Introduction to Latin American Society  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/Soc197L Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Doing academic research

Magnifying glass

 

The links below lead to PowerPoint presentations on how to use the library more effectively. Each PowerPoint presentation will take a few seconds to load, and then it will open as a slide show. When the presentation is over, hit the "Escape" key to return to the LibGuide page.

What is a "refereed" or scholarly article?

Better book searching

How to find articles in the library

Why use WorldCat?

How to use interlibrary loan

How to read call numbers

How to cite books & articles

 

 

 

 

Sociology 197L: Introduction to Latin American Society

FavelaIndian women votingFe en blanco y negroArgentine protestors

This is a page designed to help you in your course work. It has tips on doing library research more efficiently, using RefWorks, finding books, and locating articles.

I have summarized the highlights of the class session with a PowerPoint, here.

 

Best databases for researching Latin American sociology

Sociological Abstracts
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Citations to journal articles in the social sciences, 1983-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Articles from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-present.

PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Countries and their cultures
Information on food, rituals, pastimes, arts, etc. of 200 nations.

 

Sociology@ Ebsco

Search 19 databases at once! Click on "Search" button to perform the search.
Research databases
 

Sociology@CSA

Search 3 sociology databases at once!
csa_illumina 
Enter your search terms:

Subject Guide

Dr. Peter Stern
Contact Info
1967 Du Bois Library
413-545-3967
pstern@library.umass.edu
Send Email
 

RefWorks

Refworks logo

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

Better than using 3"x5' index cards!

Index cards

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip