Libraries Ask Us

POLISCI 390WH : The Politics of the End of the World

Prof. Paul Musgrave

Welcome

Welcome to the course guide for POLISCI390WH, The Politics of the End of the World.

Here you will find links to resources to help you with your research and creation of your podcast.

If you have any questions about the guide, or other resources, please contact me (Lisa).

Databases

Interdisciplinary databases

Discovery Search
Search the Five College catalog for books, articles, and other media.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for a diverse collection of journals, some 1920's-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A list of links to the EbscoHost databases to which UMass Amherst Libraries subscribes.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Includes the following databases:

Academic Search Premier
America: History and Life
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals (1691-1877)
ATLA Religion Database
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Biological & Agricultural Index
CAB Abstracts (environmental studies)
CINAHL Complete (medicine)
Environment Index
GreenFILE
Historical Abstracts
Peace Research Abstracts
Public Administration Abstracts
Religion and Social Change, 1723-1921
Social Sciences Abstracts
Sustainability Watch

Law and public policy

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy, 1923-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture and Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980s-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
State House News Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wire service for Massachusetts state government news.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Historical Massachusetts

Internet Archive Partnership This link opens in a new window
Digitized materials from the University of Massachusetts Amherst print collection that are unique, local, and out-of-copyright.
Content is freely available for use by all.

Special Collections and Archives
Digital collections of UMass Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA).

Newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of historic Afro-American and ethnic and alternative newspapers, and historical Boston Globe, New York Times, and Washington Post
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Massachusetts NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts Daily Newspapers: Amherst Bulletin, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Springfield Republican, Greenfield Recorder, Valley Advocate, and five more Massachusetts city newspapers. 1990's to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Statistics and data

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics gathered by the Census Bureau, with scholarly editing and essays, from colonial times to near present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Proquest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies, 1973-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.