Session overview by Robert Kieft
Overview
This session is the inaugural meeting of a new interdisciplinary MLA discussion group formed by librarians within the Association for the
discussion of matters of mutual interest with scholars. The advent of technological tools that perform some familiar tasks of literary
research and offer new opportunities for gathering, working with, and publishing texts, images, and data challenge the ability of libraries
and IT organizations to support faculty and student work and require complex collaborations on campus and often with scholars, librarians,
and technologists at other institutions. Panelists will present current work, and the group will discuss agenda for its future and how
it can promote the creation and curation of scholarly collections and archives, publications, research data, and teaching and study tools
through professional associations and on their own campuses.
Robert Kieft, College Librarian, Occidental College (kieft@oxy.edu)
Heather Bowlby
“Digitizing Julia Margaret Cameron’s Illustrations to Tennyson’s Idylls of the King, and Other Poems (1874-75): A Case Study”
As a digital humanities intern at the
Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship (NINES)
group based at the University of Virginia, I am currently working to create a
digital edition of Julia Margaret Cameron’s photographically illustrated
edition of Alfred Tennyson’s Idylls of the King, entitled Illustrations to Tennyson’s Idylls of
the King, and Other Poems
(1874-75).
In this presentation, I discuss the
challenges that I have encountered in the process of developing this
interdisciplinary project and address the implications of these issues for integrating
editorial work with the practice of creating a sustainable digital resource.
Cameron’s
illustrated version of Tennyson’s Idylls of the King is well-known in the field of book
history, but a complete scholarly edition is not available. I began my project
one year ago with the goal of creating a digital edition of this important work
that would be suitable for scholarly use in many academic fields, particularly
English literature, art, art history, history, book history, and women’s
studies. I plan to reproduce the physical object as much as possible in an
electronic format while maintaining the appropriate scholarly framework.
While
I have made progress under the sponsorship of NINES, I have not yet been able
to accomplish my objective of creating a widely-accessible, digital scholarly edition of Cameron’s
illustrated Idylls. Having access to
digital humanities resources at the University of Virginia has enabled me to
consider the structural design of my project and the editorial procedures that
might best represent it in a digital environment. However, the considerable assistance
I have received has not enabled me to solve other problems I have experienced
in developing my project. As I have discovered, many factors are involved in
successfully launching a digital resource. Some of these considerations include
locating the necessary technical support, determining the specific function of
the resource within different scholarly contexts, securing an enduring online
space to house the resource, and collaborating with librarians and other
professionals in related fields to fit the resource within pre-existing
institutional frameworks.
These issues are often more difficult for graduate students like myself to address effectively. In addition to having limited opportunities for ongoing institutional support, graduate students developing digital resources also must consider how best to position their projects within the broader research they perform to earn their degrees. My experience creating my digital edition of Cameron’s illustrated Idylls is representative of these widespread issues in many ways, and in this presentation, I propose it as a case study of the problems facing graduate students involved in similar digital projects.
Heather Bowlby, Doctoral Candidate, Department of English, University of Virginia (heb7v@virginia.edu)
Marija Dalbello
Digital Archives and Digital Paleography in the Humanities Program
Creating a digital archive is an act of re-inscription of media and
information, opening new space for interpretation of writing, reading, and
structuring of text. At its core, this activity is central to the humanities
program. In my panel presentation I will focus on the cultures of writing,
collecting, and reading in the context of building digital archives - by
outlining trends, exemplifying practice, and drawing curricular conclusions.
First, I will explore humanistic engagement with technologies of
text represented by vernacular digital archives, i.e. the archives of primary
sources created by scholars for scholars, and their central and growing
importance as a form and, instrumentally, in teaching, and scholarship. Based
on the characteristics of some 150 projects that were identified as influential
in the fields of history, literature and languages through extensive searches
of conference programs, professional associations’ newsletters, syllabi, and
published reviews from 1996 to date, I will give an overview of patterns,
historical trends, typologies, and the archives’ status in disciplinary
discourses.
Secondly, I will address the work of “editing” for a digital
archive based on first-hand experience with two exemplary collections of
letters – Frautschi Letters Virtual Archive (http://csumc.wisc.edu/flva/let/FLVAlettershome.html)
at the University of Wisconsin-Madison (2000), and Digitizing Immigrant
Letters (http://ihrc.umn.edu/research/dil/index.html)
at the Immigration History Research Center (University of Minnesota) (2010). I
argue that “editing” letters for a digital archive can reveal complex
relationships between text and image, and of the interstitial nature of writing
in the transposition of chirographic to typographic forms, and in written forms
rooted in oral performance of language. I will demonstrate how that affected
the contextualization for digital archives of letters: their literary,
historical and informational aspects.
In this presentation I link interpretive information studies to
the pedagogy of digital humanities and argue for curricular centrality of the
history of books, documents, records and information in that context.
Marija Dalbello, Associate Professor, School of Communication
& Information, Rutgers University (dalbello@rutgers.edu)
Amy Earhart
"19th-Century Concord Digital Archive Project"
As our cultural
heritage is being digitized at an increasingly rapid rate we are experiencing
greater access to materials, but are also confronted with new problems of use.
Universities, libraries, and museums are digitizing their collections, but the
metadata and search capacities of the materials continue to work in isolation,
leaving numerous digital objects unused. It is crucial that those entities
participating in the development of digital resources advance interoperable
ways to interconnect collections. And, because the participants involved
with humanities digital objects creation are often scholarly or non-profit
organizations, the development of low-cost, open source solutions that are
easily applied by the non-specialized user is imperative.
Earhart will discuss The
19th-Century Concord Digital Archive partnership as a possible
model for interaction between scholars and library entities. This
project leverages resources and skills to develop a model of interaction
between academic, museum, library, and community partners, and to create
multiple interfaces for browsing digital information about the town of
Concord. The model will be useful to those searching to develop such a
collaboration, particularly those small libraries and museums who might be able
to harness volunteers, but not expensive technical support. In addition,
the ability to search multiple sites that contain metadata and digital objects
related to a subject matter, such as 19th-century Concord,
as well as to display that material in new and innovative ways, such as GIS
based maps, timelines, and exhibits, will encourage use of the material by both
scholars and the public and produce greater cultural understanding of this
historical and literary period.
Manuel M. Martin-Rodriguez
The Chicano/a Literature Intertextual Database: Toward a Literary History Beyond Borders
Manuel M.
Martín-Rodríguez, Professor of Literature, University of
California, Merced ( mmartin_rodriguez@hotmail.com )
Susanne Woods
Collaborative Development of Information Literacy and Advanced Undergraduate Research in the Liberal Arts Colleges
The Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) has collaborated over the last ten years with the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and other groups and institutions to help transform the college library and offer faculty and librarians practical assistance in confronting swift and dramatic changes in the research environment. A current CIC-ACRL collaboration, funded by a generous grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, seeks to help institutions develop campus-specific plans for information fluency in literature majors. The CIC experience suggests models for developing collaborations among faculty, librarians, and academic technologists in both general education programs and in the major.
In response, the CIC received Mellon funding for a series of workshops on “Transforming the College Library,” offering teams from private liberal arts colleges the opportunity to learn from experts and each other how they might adapt to the new environment. The three-day workshops were offered at various locations between 2002 and 2008, and brought together librarians, academic technologists, and chief academic officers to work out practical plans from what had been competing cultures. The National Institute for Technology in Liberal Education (NITLE) was also involved in these earlier workshops, and toward the end both the United Negro College Fund and the Appalachian Colleges Association had become part of the project.
Susanne Woods,Council of Independent Colleges Senior Advisor; Provost and Professor of English Emerita, Wheaton College (MA) (susanne.woods@gmail.com)
Susan Barnes Whyte, College Librarian, Linfield College;
ACRL Liaison to the CIC (swhyte@linfield.edu)
General
Panel organizer/convener: James R. Kelly, Humanities Bibliographer, W.E.B. Du Bois Library, University of Massachusetts Amherst (jrkelly@library.umass.edu)


Loading...
